Fighting First DUI / DWI Offenses Before They Escalate
In years past, first-offense driving under the influence (DUI / DWI) charges were not that big of a deal. They did not carry the most severe consequences on their own, and almost any competent attorney could defend a client against these charges in most cases. However, with the increased penalties associated with a DUI / DWI conviction in Missouri since new legislation in 2010, it has become more important than ever to work with an experienced Lee's Summit first DUI / DWI defense attorney.
Scared? Anxious? Confused? Help Is Here!
At the law office of David M. Lurie, Criminal Defense Attorney and Counselor at Law, I represent good people in tough situations. DUI / DWI is the type of criminal charge that anyone can face. People from all walks of life have, at one time or another, had one or two drinks too many before driving home. I represent clients on the criminal side, minimizing or eliminating jail time and other serious consequences, and on the administrative side, protecting my clients' driving privileges in the administrative process.
I know that the criminal justice system can be terribly intimidating, especially if this is your first offense of any kind. With more than 36 years of legal experience, I can help you understand the consequences of a conviction and work to minimize the damage that these charges can have on your life.
Work With An Attorney Experienced In Multiple DUI / DWI Charges
One thing many first-offense DUI / DWI clients do not understand is the importance of choosing an attorney who has experience working with repeat offenders. Because I have handled so many multiple DUI / DWI cases in the past 36 years, I know what will be needed down the road in the event of a subsequent DUI / DWI charge.
I am able to handle the first offense in a way that best protects my clients if they face subsequent DUI / DWI charges down the road. Attorneys who handle only first-offense DUI / DWIs or have DUI / DWI as just a part of their practice may not be able to provide that level of coverage.
Diversion Or Suspended Imposition Of Sentence
With more than 36 years of legal experience, I have a thorough understanding of the options and alternatives to sentencing that may be available to you. In a diversion, you agree to pay all fees and costs and follow other court-imposed conditions, which may include attending some sort of program or completing community service in exchange for the case being dismissed at the end of the diversionary period. A suspended imposition of sentence (SIS) is, as the name suggests, a suspension of the imposing of a sentence. You go straight to a probationary period, with similar conditions. If you make it through that successfully, the charges are dismissed.
These options are not available to everyone in every case, so it is important to talk with a Missouri DUI / DWI lawyer to learn more.
Kansas City Drunk Driving Defense Attorney
If you are facing a license suspension and criminal charges for driving under the influence, 816-221-5900 or contact me online for a free initial consultation.
Multiple DUI Offenses ? Serious Consequences
DUI / DWI is always a serious crime that carries harsh consequences, but with multiple convictions, the charges become increasingly serious and the penalties increasingly harsh. If you are facing second or subsequent driving under the influence (DUI / DWI) charges, it is important to work with an experienced Kansas City felony DUI / DWI defense attorney.
Scared? Anxious? Confused? Help Is Here!
At the law office of David M. Lurie, Criminal Defense Attorney and Counselor at Law, I defend clients against multiple DUI / DWI charges in Missouri and Kansas. With 36 years of experience as a lawyer, I have the legal knowledge and understanding to help you get the best outcome possible in your case.
The penalties increase with every DUI / DWI charge after the first one. Every alcohol-related conviction after the second is eligible to be charged as a felony, which includes a minimum of 10 days in jail before you are possibly granted probation.
In Missouri, there are four main categories for multiple-offense DUI / DWI charges:
Prior offender (class A misdemeanor): With conviction of a second offense comes a minimum of 10 days in jail before you are eligible for probation, even if you are granted probation, or at least 240 hours of community service.
Persistent offender (class D misdemeanor): The persistent offender designation comes with the third conviction. It brings a minimum of 30 days in jail or 480 hours of community service.
Aggravated DUI / DWI offender (class C felony): With three or more prior convictions come the "aggravated offender" designation and a minimum of 60 days in jail.
Chronic offender (class D felony): By the time you are convicted of a fourth DUI / DWI, you will be a felon serving a minimum sentence of two years in prison.
I can help you with all aspects of your DUI / DWI charges, from the criminal charges to the administrative driver's license hearings. I can also help you implement mitigation strategies for the drinking or other underlying problem that led to the drunk driving arrest. I can direct you to people who will help you get to the source of the problem and find the right treatment or recovery programs, if needed. When it is clear that you are already taking steps to recover from the alcohol problems that led to DUI / DWI charges, it can lead to much more lenient penalties even if you are convicted.
Contact A Lee's Summit Multiple DUI / DWI Defense Attorney
I offer free initial consultations so you can talk to a lawyer about your rights and options in defending against multiple DUI / DWI charges. Call 816-221-5900 or contact me online to discuss your case with an experienced DUI / DWI lawyer.
With each DUI or DWI arrest, two different and distinct consequences arise.
The first, is your criminal DUI or DWI charge.
The second, is the administrative suspension of your driving privileges. No matter what the disposition is of your criminal DUI or DWI charge, even if it's just your first DUI / DWI, you can lose your driving privileges for as little as 30 days or as much as one year. If you've had previous DUI / DWI charges, you could increase the administrative suspension time of your driving privileges up to even 5 or 10 years.
There are many different variables associated with how long you may lose your driver's license or your driving privileges, and all the steps you will need to take to get your license back. For example, an SR-22, a reinstatement fee and/or a completion of a driver's education program (SATOP) may be necessary. Unlike the court dates for your criminal charges, in order to fight your administrative suspension from the Department of Revenue, you have a very short timeframe within which to act, and to appeal your driver's license suspension. In some cases, you have as little as 10 days from the date you are stopped to file a Request for Hearing or a Petition for Refusal of a Breathalyzer under the State Statute: RSMo. Section 577.041.
Whether you took a breathalyzer, or refused to take a breathalyzer, you need to contact an experienced DUI or DWI defense attorney.